isomd

Lindsay Lohan is Suing E-Trade | March 10, 2010

If you don’t know why Lindsay Lohan is suing E-Trade, here’s why: In the past Superbowl, a commercial aired about two baby’s talking through a computer, and then the girl baby said: “That milkaholic Lindsay wasn’t over?”.

Now, Lindsay Lohan is suing E-Trade for 100 million dollars for that. For slandering her name or using her name and showing it in a bad light.

I don’t know, because I’m not a lawyer and I’m not a person that has the name “Lindsay”, but this lawsuit seems really petty and trivial. There are a lot of people named Lindsay, but apparently, her lawyer seems to think that Lindsay has a monopoly on the name. I really hope I’m not using her name that I could get sued right now. I don’t think she copyrighted her name. And E-Trade didn’t use the full name, just Lindsay.

Her Lawyer stated: “Many celebrities are known by one name only, and E-Trade is using that knowledge to profit,” I could understand that if Lindsay is a really uncommon name, and it was unique to her, or she was on that plateau of stardom that Lindsay and her are almost one and the same. Cher or Madonna, these one-name people, they have those names because of their stardom, and also double as a name that’s unique, so the name and the person are closely related. But Lindsay isn’t there yet, in my opinion, and also, her name is a common girl’s name.

Her Lawyer claims “They’re using her name as a parody of her life. Why didn’t they use the name Susan? This is a subliminal message. Everybody’s talking about it and saying it’s Lindsay Lohan.” Again, this is a stretch, she’s suing because the Lindsay in the commercial is called a “milk-aholic” that is is relating to Lindsay’s life in a bad way. Which is another stretch. And as for the Susan bit, the lawyer is making it seem that Susan is an easier or more obvious choice and E-Trade went out of their way to pick Lindsay as the name. Lindsay happens to be a common baby name, which is what the company is arguing, and it is a legitimate argument. They just happened to pick a name, if it was any other name, maybe someone else might have got mad, but most likely, it wouldn’t have been a problem.

“Everybody’s talking about it and saying it’s Lindsay Lohan.” First off, who are these “people”? And why are they talking about it saying its Lindsay? Lindsay must be really self-conscious about how “people” view her. Are these her friends, fans, other people in the industry? Why does that matter, and how does that really affect her? It’s a funny commercial, I think she should view it that way and not be so critical of it.

100 million dollars is a lot of money, and for what? Even if it is a legitimate argument, is 100 million the right asking price? Did that company really hurt her that much for that type of money? Aren’t we in a recession, and Lindsay Lohan is suing companies? People need to change.

Lindsay Lohan must either have a big ego for her to think every time the name Lindsay is murmured, that it must be her. Or she just wants money. I don’t know, but this whole thing seems silly.

There are a lot of other Lindsay’s in the world, and I bet most of them thought the commercial was funny and didn’t think twice of it.

Here’s the Link to the article where I first read it: http://omg.yahoo.com/news/lindsay-lohan-suing-e-trade-for-milkaholic-parody/37130?nc

(And to be honest, I don’t really like write about things like this, I’d like to write about things that make me think, and I don’t like the usual “editorial” or “modern journalism” styles that I used writing this, I prefer writing about different types of subjects, but this just really made me mad about how petty and silly it is. People look too much into things and get mad by looking into things too much, and this was a perfect example that made me really mad. So I felt I had to write about it.)

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

